Patience

Patience is something not everyone has. Patience, if we have it, keeps us sane at times. It keeps others sane. It’s something that keeps the fabric of society together.

Have you ever sat in the back of your parents’ car while you’re going on a trip or you have kids that sit at the back of your car who constantly ask, “Are we there yet? Are we there yet? Are we there yet?” Sound familiar?

When we’re younger, most of us have less patience then when we’re adults. Some of us, even when we grow up, never get that patience. It depends on the person, really.

If you’re someone who wants to keep that childhood alive, you usually keep that lack of patience for a while until you attempt to change your views on adulthood.

Patience is something you have to work at in order to have. Some people have a certain time period that they’re able to wait for. Maybe a few minutes, an hour, a day, a week, a month, or even a year. It really does depend on the person, as I’ve said.

Don’t think I get this stuff from some psychology journal. I don’t read that kind of stuff. I get this information from what I see everyday. With kids, teenagers, and even adults. People I see every day of my life.

I get information from experiences. Experiences that involve a lot of time and patience. Like you lot. You’ve had a lot of patience to wait for me to post something. And I’m faithful for it.

I can’t tell you how to gain more patience other than to try to entertain your mind while waiting for something. Imagine you’re somewhere else with someone or no one.

I close my eyes and I imagine myself in the place I feel the safest with the people I feel safe with. Or I imagine myself in a fictional place and I create a story that’s better than my current life. I create my own parallel universe in my head while I wait.

Patience works differently for everyone. How does it work for you?

Leave a Reply

